Almost made it… Ibis Geneve Centre Gare

Ibis has been in my good book as they offer decent accommodation and affordable. This time, I was keen to stay at Ibis Geneva partially due to offers that I have receive for being a member with AccorHotels. Do note that there are more than 5 Ibis chain hotels in Geneva but I am referring to Ibis Geneve Centre Gare.

We arrived at Geneva Cornavin station (which is the main railway station). From my earlier finding, the hotel is located quite nearby to the station hence we decided to walk.  We took about 15minutes to reach the hotel with our luggage. It was easy to find. The hotel looks well-kept and clean. The check-in was smooth and fast. Probably because we have fully paid for the room at the time of the booking itself.

01 02

The room was good and spacious considering a city hotel. Ibis seems to have same standard with their room which may room familiar with other ibis elsewhere. Anyway the amenities that you would enjoy is TV, air-conditioner, comfortable bed, desk, chairs, closet and toiletries.

03

The only issue with the room was the air conditioner which was not cold at all despite choosing the lowest temperature on the control switch. It felt the same although after having it switched on for hours. It was pretty disappointing considering it was summer and it was warm.  Luckily for me, we were here only for one night. I don’t think I will be able to tolerate it if I had stayed longer.

04

I have shared this feedback via Trip Advisor and Ibis has responded that ‘air conditioning is prohibited in Geneva’. Now, it’s a shock for me. Anyone knows why is it so?

05

As for the location of the hotel, it was convenient for us to get around the city on foot. It takes about 15-20minutes to reach to the old town. The hotel is located on the quieter side of the new town which is fine with us.

06

Overall good stay here at Ibis Geneva Centre Gare except for the air-condition issue which is apparently same applies to other establishments in Geneva. Furthermore, accommodations in Geneva is generally very expensive so choose wisely.

7 thoughts on “Almost made it… Ibis Geneve Centre Gare

  1. I stayed at different places in Switzerland and I never encountered any of the rooms having an aircon in it. Heaters are always there, but aircons… never seen one. BTW, I didn’t stay at any international chain hotels, just the small hotels and family run lodgings. I guess it makes sense in winter and autumn, but summer can be hot and no aircon is like O_o.

    Like

    • Hmm the part which is weird is why would they restrict the air conditioner! Actually they do have ac with the control switch in the room but it just doesn’t work. I hardly felt any air coming out, not to mention its not cold air.. Its not even an old building / hotel to conclude the ac system is poor. Hmm but i have read few reviews online which says similar to my experience. And yes during summer, its a no no! 😓

      Like

  2. When I was in Paris, they actually told us that air condition will not
    Activate unless it is spring. The temperature at that time is around
    23-15. Considered is quite stuffy. Furthermore the standard rooms do not have double beds. Which is quite funny. They do have single beds which me and my wife have to pushed it to become a “double bed”.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, thats a bummer. I mean your experience in Paris, we are so used with AC don’t we! Yea, can be quite stuffy and warm! Not too sure about the bed thing. Perhaps its just the hotel that you were staying. We did fine in Paris this time and all other places during Europe trip in June except for Geneva.

      Like

Leave a Reply

