Saya suka Satay!…

IMG_3167

Chicken satay

IMG_3168

Mutton satay

Saya suka satay! That means, I love satay!

What is Satay? It is actually small pieces of meat on bamboo skewers and grilled. Normally the meat would be seasoned and marinated at least for few hours (or overnight for better taste) before being skewed and grilled. Satay is normally served with nasi himpit, peanut sauce (sweet & spicy) and cucumber. It is a common dish in Malaysia and well like by all.

Satay is very famous in Kajang , a small town in south of Kuala Lumpur. Depending of traffic, it can take about 40 minutes or more to reach here from Kuala Lumpur. You can find variety of satays such as chicken, mutton or beef easily. There are some places that serve fish, pork, deer, chicken liver / gizzard, rabbit, etc.

IMG_3169

Peanut sauce.. Yumm. I love this!

IMG_3170

Grind chili sauce! Very spicy!

Since I am staying in south of KL, it is very easy for me to go to Kajang. One of my favorite satay place is Haji Samsuri.

I normally visit their outlet at Bangunan Dato Nazir for many years now.

IMG_3172

Cucumbers

IMG_3171

Nasi himpit.

 

Why do I like the satays here? Well, you can variety of satays here. The peanut sauce is very good. If you like your sauce to be extra spicy, then just add the grind chili sauce for additional ‘zing’.  I normally like the sauce to be extra spicy.  The quality of satays here is good. I remember many years ago, they used to be a much ‘smaller’ restaurant and waiting for them to prepare the satays will take a while. Nowadays they have a very big kitchen and waiting time for the satay is not that long anymore which is a good thing. So, if you are here in Malaysia, do try out Satay!

If you have tried Satay, let me know whether you liked it?

IMG_3165

Hj Samsuri

IMG_3164

Hj Samsuri

 

Visited in May 2014. How would I rate them? The atmosphere: 3.5 / 5, Service: 4 / 5, F&B: 4.5 / 5 (Scale 1 to 5, 5 being the highest score).

3 thoughts on “Saya suka Satay!…

  1. Can you forgive me, I completely spaced out doing the award? I am still wanting to do it, but have been working so much I completely forgot until I saw a post on here about awards. I liked your face book page btw, hoping that would ease the angst. I am adding this to my schedule to do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

