Satay Celup @ Ban Lee Hiang Melaka.

“You should try satay celup!”…  That is what my Melaka friends have been telling me all this while! So finally wanted to try it out. Initially we wanted to go to Capitol satay celup but diverted to Ban Lee Hiang, which is another famous satay celup restaurant due to heavy traffic. According to my friends, the outlet on the left is the original outlet. 

Apparently one has to queue to eat here but it was good luck for us on that day as we managed to get a table in few minutes time. You have to choose you own ‘satays’ from the chiller. You can choose from a wide selection of fish balls, sausages, fresh seafood, cockles, vegetables etc. Best to take as many as you can consume first, if you want more then get refills.

The price of each of the satay is counted based on the number of stick it has ie each stick is RM0.60. Similar to ‘lok-lok’, you will be cooking those items which you have taken in the pot of peanut gravy. If you want it spicier, you can add the chili flakes placed on the table. 

Overall I would say it is average. I like the idea of cooking your own food and eat it while it’s hot. I do not like the gravy as it doesn’t suit to my liking. Some says the Capitol is nicer as they have thicker gravy and tastier. I wouldn’t know that until I try it the next time I am in Melaka.

IMG_0845

IMG_0847

IMG_0848

 

Visited in June 2013. How would I rate them? The atmosphere 3.5/5, Service 3.5/5, F&B 3.5/5.

Where at: 45E Jalan Ong Kim Wee, 75300 Melaka.

Leave a Reply

